BIAB Help

A spot to talk general homebrew
naes100
Verified User
Verified User

BIAB Help

Post by naes100 » Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:09 am

Hi Folks, i've been brewing all grain for the past 3+ years and have the process down. I currently use a 19gal pot and a 10 gal mash tun and generally do 10 gal batches of ales ~5-6%

I want to brew a 10 gal batch of a bigger IPA but the total grains are 28lbs and the max Ive done is 21lbs. No way in hell I'm getting 28lbs in my 10 gal mash tun. Fortunately, my 19 gal pot came with a custom BIAB but I haven't a clue how to use it.

Could someone provide the major step differences for BIAB? Do I simply boil my mash water and add the grains to the pot? I currently do batch sparging - how do I do this with BIAB? Anything I need to change in my Beersmith Receipe?

Thanks in advance folks!

Sean

Jimmy
Site Admin Award Winner
Site Admin Award Winner

Re: BIAB Help

Post by Jimmy » Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:19 am

Generally, the following is how BIAB is done:

Add all water to pot>raise strike water to mash in temp (keep in mind it will need to be a lower temp because there's more water than a typical mash)>turn off heat & add BIAB and grain>mash as usual>remove bag & grain>boil as usual.

You can also go about it the way you mention above with batch sparging. The main thing to keep in mind is that you do not want to apply direct heat while the bag is touching the bottom of the pot, as it could melt.

In beersmith, there's also a BIAB mash profile - it reduces the absorption rate of the malt, because there tends to be less absorption when doing BIAB. Generally you can also reduce your overall loss, because everything happens in the 1 vessel, so you're not losing volume due to transfers.

Woody
Award Winner 4
Award Winner 4
Name: Derek

Post by Woody » Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:11 pm