A spot to talk general homebrew
ailken
Verified User
Verified User
Name: Bill Neklia

Did I miss the mark or is this normal

Post by ailken » Mon Mar 29, 2021 11:54 am

Hey folks,

Trying to potentially troubleshoot a mash that I think may have not converted well.
BTW, this is my very first attempt at an AG, so be gentle, LOL

I made a mash that I used about 30% 6 row, 30% flaked barley and some other misc flaked grains to get a total of 7.5kg
Then, I added that to 25L of 157F strike water leaving me with a mash temp of 149F.
Wrapped and insulated it well and stirred it every 30 minutes, left if rest for a total of 90 minutes and ended at 142F.

I anticipated that I would get an approx SG of 1.070.
But I only had a pre-boil SG of 1.055

Any ideas where I could have gone wrong here?
Is this about average and to be expected?
Maybe did I go too light on the malt?

ConanTroutman
Verified User
Verified User

Re: Did I miss the mark or is this normal

Post by ConanTroutman » Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:43 pm

Definitely can't say for certain, at least based on that info it could be a few things.

1. Water, most beers are fine with plain Halifax/Dartmouth city water if you're new and not wanting to dive into water chemistry yet, however if you're somewhere with hard water or a lower pr higher pH you might run into conversion issues. The mash needs to be within a certain range for the enzymes to convert efficiently.

2. Grain crush, if your grain is poorly crushed you may not be getting the most out of your 6 row or the flaked adjuncts it's also there to convert.

3. Flaked grains, some cereal grains aren't readily usable in a mash just by adding them with a malted grain and need to undergo a "cereal mash" to gelatinize them. Without going into the nitty gritty, this just makes the starches usable. Some flaked grains are pre-cooked or are gelatinzed some other way in the process, but not knowing what you're using it's possible some of your flaked grains needed a separate mash.