Legs + Casters for Sanke fermenter?

A spot to talk general homebrew
moxie
Verified User
Verified User
Name: Patrick

Legs + Casters for Sanke fermenter?

Post by moxie » Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:26 pm

I want to put some legs/casters on one of my slim sanke fermenters... Any idea how much this type of job would cost if farmed out to a local welder? I have no welding background whatsoever, but I would love to be able to roll my fermenter around and have it elevated to gravity fill corneys. I have seen this type of equipment listed on Ebay as a "Uni-Tank" fermenter. What would the metal cost? Any of you guys able/willing to do one of these up for me?

I made up a little MS Paint drawing to supplement my description:

mr x
Mod Award Winner
Mod Award Winner

Re: Legs + Casters for Sanke fermenter?

Post by mr x » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:53 pm

How high to you need the legs? I might be able to come up with some ss angle for you.
At Alexander Keith's we follow the recipes first developed by the great brewmaster to the absolute letter. :wtf:

ratchet
Verified User
Verified User

Post by ratchet » Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:21 pm

the other thing - if you're going to make it as tall as your sketch... you'll want a reinforcing hoop down by the wheels, or it'll likely break.

moxie
Verified User
Verified User

Post by moxie » Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:22 pm

mr x wrote:How high to you need the legs? I might be able to come up with some ss angle for you.
Well, just hoping for enough height to gravity fill a corny, whatever that is... 24 inches? I suppose a few inches less due to the height of the casters...

Ratchet makes a good point about the strength of the legs. Some sort of "hoop" around the bottom would work, right? Maybe a triangle would be easier since it could be made to any size.

I have no idea about the work/costs associated with welding, can anyone give me an idea about what I should expect to spend on a project like this?

Thanks for the info. :cheers2: