Fridge Temperature controller

A spot to talk general homebrew
CorneliusAlphonse
Award Winner 1
Award Winner 1

Fridge Temperature controller

Post by CorneliusAlphonse » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:06 pm

I inherited a minifridge when I moved into my current apartment. I have it almost ready to go for kegging but I am having one (very major) issue. The thermostat doesnt seem to work. No matter what setting I turn the knob to, the compressor just runs constantly, cooling everything in the fridge to -10 or -15.

I need a temperature regulator. I checked on homebrewtalk, they mostly recommend an aquarium temp controller (thread here) as a cost-effective solution.

Does anyone know where I could get one of these, or something else to supply power to my fridge depending on the temperature? (I'm an engineering student but mostly concrete, not electricity, so something I can figure out always preferred)

My first idea is the aquarium/fish store on Quinpool (close to where I live) but I don't know if they'll have it.

Cheers!
planning: beer for my cousin's wedding
Fermenting: black ipa
Conditioning:
Kegged: barrel barleywine from 2014 - i think i still have this somewhere

JEH
Verified User
Verified User

Re: Fridge Temperature controller

Post by JEH » Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:14 pm

Im currently turning a chest freezer into a kegerator, and am buying a regulator from the NG for it. Im sure theres probably cheaper options but this is just easiest. That may work?

CorneliusAlphonse
Award Winner 1
Award Winner 1

Post by CorneliusAlphonse » Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:36 am

Thanks for the response - I will check noble grape as well as it is right next to the fish place. I, for some reason, didn't think they would have it - would it matter which NG store I go to? I'll check Quinpool first
Conditioning:

mr x
Mod Award Winner
Mod Award Winner

Post by mr x » Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:51 am

Christ. That thread is 63 pages long..... :shock:

:lol: