New to Brewing/First all grain

A spot to talk general homebrew
Garak

New to Brewing/First all grain

Post by Garak » Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:53 pm

Hey guys. I'm new to home brewing but I'm learning very quickly and jumping right into all grain brewing. I did my first all grain batch last week, didn't go as well as I hoped but I learned alot. Mainly that I need a bigger pot, which I think I just scored, and that I need a wort chiller, the snow bank didn't work out at all :D

One problem I'm having is that my cooler mash tun is leaking. Anyone know where I might get some big thick O rings around Halifax? Anyone know of a food safe sealant that I could use?

Another thing I'm looking for is a good lab thermometer. I need something for calibrating my electronic thermometers. Anyone know of an affordable place to pick one up in HRM?

I'm an Electronics Engineering technologist and robotics hobbyist. If anyone needs any help with any brewing related electronics, electrical, automation, etc.. I'm offering my services for trade. I'm currently messing around with some low cost temperature control systems, a low cost PID sorta. Both brewing controller and a fermentation temperature controller. It can also be adapted to control kegerators and keezers. I'd be willing to build a few of them if anyone is interested in them.

--
Chris "Garak" McDonald
Last edited by Garak on Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

mr x
Mod Award Winner
Mod Award Winner

Re: New to Brewing/First all grain

Post by mr x » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:58 am

Hey, I can probably help with the thermometer and o-ring. It won't be until around this time next week though. I have lots of thermometers and food-safe gasket material that is better than o-rings in most cases.

:welcome:
At Alexander Keith's we follow the recipes first developed by the great brewmaster to the absolute letter. :wtf:

ratchet
Verified User
Verified User

Post by ratchet » Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:54 am