RIS Grist

Need help with a recipe? Have leftover ingredients and don't know what to do with them? Post in here! Any of your "tried & true" recipes can go in the recipe database forum.
kberry
Verified User
Verified User
Name: Kevin Berryman

RIS Grist

Post by kberry » Mon Oct 26, 2015 9:13 pm

Hey all!

I'm trying my hand at a grain bill for an RIS. This is an area (style) where I have zero experience. This is what I have right now, hoping for comments specifically on grain percentage.

25 lbs Pale Malt 86.8%
1.5 lbs Roasted Barley 5.2%
1 lb Crystal 150L 3.5%
1 lb Chocolate 3.5%
5.0 oz Melanoidin 1.1%

With 60% efficiency (I've heard you should lower this for large beers, I'm normally in the 70-75% area) this would result in an OG of 1.102 and a Color of 50.2 SRM.

I haven't decided on yeast, but likely California Ale or Dry English. And hops are a future problem, as well.

Thanks in advance!

-Kevin

jacinthebox
Award Winner 16
Award Winner 16
Name: Justin

Re: RIS Grist

Post by jacinthebox » Mon Oct 26, 2015 9:27 pm

Just brewed this ris with my buddy on Friday.
10gal batch

34 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row)
3 lbs Roasted Barley
2 lbs Special B
1 lbs 8.0 oz Chocolate Malt
1 lbs Cara-Pils/Dextrine
8.0 oz Acid Malt

Mashed at 150f for 90min
8.00 oz Challenger @60.0 min
2.00 oz East Kent Goldings (EKG) @ 25.0 min
Brathair Brewing

Brew Hard...Stay Humble

Keith
Award Winner 6
Award Winner 6
Name: Keith

Post by Keith » Mon Oct 26, 2015 9:59 pm

kberry wrote:Hey all!

I'm trying my hand at a grain bill for an RIS. This is an area (style) where I have zero experience. This is what I have right now, hoping for comments specifically on grain percentage.

25 lbs Pale Malt 86.8%
1 lb Crystal 150L 3.5%
1 lb Chocolate 3.5%
5.0 oz Melanoidin 1.1%

With 60% efficiency (I've heard you should lower this for large beers, I'm normally in the 70-75% area) this would result in an OG of 1.102 and a Color of 50.2 SRM.